

Minutes of a meeting of the Constitution Committee held at County Hall, Glenfield on Wednesday, 21 November 2001.

## PRESENT

Mr. H. Barber CC (in the Chair)

Mr. S. J. Galton CC Prof. M. E. Preston CC Mr. Mike Jones CC Mr. J. B. Rhodes CC

12. Minutes of the meeting held on 26 September, 2001.

The minutes of the meeting held on 26<sup>th</sup> September, 2001, were taken as read, confirmed and signed.

13. Question Time

The Chief Executive reported that no questions had been received under Standing Order 35.

14. Questions asked under Standing Order 8(3) and (5).

The Chief Executive reported that no questions had been received under Standing Order 8(3) and (5).

15. <u>To advise of any other items which the Chairman has decided to take as urgent on the agenda.</u>

There were no urgent items for consideration.

16. <u>To receive declarations by members of pecuniary and non-pecuniary</u> interests in respect of items on this agenda.

No declarations were made.

17. <u>Exclusion of the Public</u>

## RESOLVED

That under Section 100A of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act:-

Appointment of Independent Members of Standards Committee.

## 18. <u>Appointment of Independent Members of Standards Committee</u>

The Committee considered a report of the Chief Executive on the process of appointing independent members of the County Council's Standards Committee. A copy of the report marked B is filed with these minutes. The report was not for publication by virtue of Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

The four shortlisted candidates were then each interviewed in turn.

## RESOLVED

That the County Council be recommended to appoint Mr. M.J. Caple and Mr. J.P. Parkinson to serve as Independent Members of the Standards Committee for a term of four years ending on 30<sup>th</sup> November, 2005.

CHAIRMAN

2.00 p.m. – 4.40 p.m. 21. 11. 01